Toronto Maple Leafs ahead Auston Matthews collects Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award

TAMPA, Fla. – Toronto Maple Leafs star ahead Auston Matthews collected the Hart Trophy because the NHL’s most dear participant and the Ted Lindsay Award because the NHLPA’s most excellent participant on the NHL Awards on Tuesday evening.

Matthews, 24, scored 60 targets, main the NHL for the second straight season. He set a Maple Leafs franchise file and the single-season file for many targets by an American-born participant. He led the NHL in even-strength targets (44), targets per sport (0.82) and photographs (348). He was tied for sixth in factors with 106 – the best complete of his profession.

Matthews earned 119 first-place votes for the Hart Trophy, which was voted on by the Skilled Hockey Writers Affiliation (PHWA). Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers was second within the voting whereas New York Rangers goalie Igor Shesterkin was third.

Matthews was the primary Maple Leafs participant to win the NHLPA’s most excellent participant award, which was voted on by the gamers and was first handed out in 1971. McDavid and Nashville Predators defender Roman Josi have been the runners-up for the Ted Lindsay. Matthews is the second American-born participant to win the award, together with Chicago Blackhawks star Patrick Kane in 2015-16.

“To be honored by gamers you go up towards each evening,” he mentioned, “it simply means quite a bit to me.”

The closest vote of the evening was for the Norris Trophy, given to the NHL’s greatest defenseman by the PHWA. Colorado Avalanche defenseman Cale Makar received his first Norris with 1,631 factors within the voting, with 92 first-place votes. Josi was second (1,606) with extra first-place votes than Makar (98). The factors allocation on the poll, which ranks the highest 5 selections, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar was named on 195 ballots, whereas Josi was named on 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning defender Victor Hedman was third for the Norris.

“We have got some essential issues to do [Wednesday]”Makar mentioned on the present, rapidly turning consideration again to the Stanley Cup Ultimate.” However for the boys, this goes out to them. “

Shesterkin received the Vezina Trophy because the League’s high goaltender, which was voted on by the NHL’s basic managers. The opposite finalists have been runner-up selection Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames and Juuse Saros of the Nashville Predators.

“It is a fantastic honor for me to be right here,” Shesterkin mentioned on the ceremony. “It is good to play for the New York Rangers, it is an unbelievable feeling.”

Shesterkin led the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against common and a .935 save proportion in 53 video games, main the Rangers to 110 regular-season factors, the third-highest complete in franchise historical past. He was a first-time Vezina nominee and joined Henrik Lundqvist and John Vanbiesbrouck as Rangers who received the Vezina because the present standards for the award was set in 1981-82.

Some anticipated he might be a unanimous selection, however Carolina’s Frederik Andersen, Tampa Bay goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy and the New York Islanders’ Ilya Sorokin additionally had first-place votes.

Detroit Purple Wings defender Moritz Seider received the Calder Memorial Trophy for rookie of the 12 months, as voted on by the PHWA. He performed all 82 video games for the Purple Wings and averaged 23:02 in ice time per sport, tops amongst rookies. He led all rookie defensemen in factors (50), the third-highest for a first-year blueliner within the final 30 years. He led all rookies in assists (43) and power-play factors (21).

“It is a actually massive honor, I didn’t actually put together for a speech, so I will simply drift right here,” he mentioned. “It is a fantastic group with Detroit, it’s extremely enjoyable to be a Purple Wing.”

Seider collected 170 first-place votes. Trevor Zegras, the Anaheim Geese ahead who created a number of highlight-reel targets this season, was second with 15 first-place votes. Toronto Maple Leafs rookie Michael Bunting, who was notable for being 26 years previous, was third within the voting.

Julien BriseBois of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Chris Drury of the New York Rangers and Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche are the three finalists for the 2021-22 Jim Gregory Normal Supervisor of the 12 months Award. The winner will probably be introduced on the NHL Draft subsequent month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards have been held at Armature Works in Tampa on the off day between Video games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Ultimate. The league beforehand introduced a number of awards throughout the playoffs: Mark Messier NHL Management Award: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings; Jack Adams Award: Darryl Sutter, Calgary Flames; Invoice Masterton Memorial Trophy: Carey Value, Montreal Canadiens; Willie O’Ree Group Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore, Md. Frank J. Selke Trophy for greatest defensive ahead: Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins; Woman Byng Memorial Trophy for many gentlemanly participant: Kyle Connor, Winnipeg Jets; King Clancy Memorial Trophy for neighborhood service: PK Subban, New Jersey Devils.


Leave a Comment